Klinkey’s rich history begins during 1933 in the heart of the Great Depression. William ‘Bill’ Klinkey, 34, had been out of work and needed to find a way to support his wife, Martha, and their children. Bill purchased a wheel barrow, a ladder and few tools to repair gutters and roof flashings. Bill acquired his skills at a job with the Pullman Car company building rail cars. It was there he had learned to work stainless steel sheet and decided to use those skills to open his own business.
When World War II started in Europe the U.S. industry geared up. This made it difficult to obtain raw materials due to rationing from the war. During this time, the Klinkey business had rented a basement below Norky’s tavern (now 222) on St.Charles’s Main Street. After the war, in 1949, Bill and Martha bought the Beezy Baldrich House on South 3rd street in St. Charles. The following year a new building for Klinkey Heating was built.
In 1959 Bill died, and his wife Martha took over running Klinkey Heating. In 1967 Martha incorporated Klinkey Heating and Sheet Metal and retired leaving Billy Jr. in charge. In 1970 Klinkey Heating moved again to the present location South 1st street.
After graduating in 1986, current owner Rob Klinkey worked summers for Klinkey and was eventually hired full-time in the early 90’s making him the 3rd generation owner.
Today, Klinkey Heating is operating as it always has and looking forward to celebrating many more years in St. Charles incorporating new technology and efficiency keeping the Fox Valley comfortable.